Recipes · Summer Recipe Challenge

SRC: Mexican Street Food

Little Image

Guys, I love Mexican food. Well, at least all the Mexican food I’ve ever had, which has almost always been made by Americans. Most of whom don’t have a drop of Hispanic blood in them. And very few, have ever set foot in Central America.

The one of the few exceptions is many years ago, I ate a Tamale. Like a sure enough, wrapped in corn husks by a lady from Mexico, Tamale. They were pale soft things, about the size of a bar of soap. The outside layer was corn husks. When you unwrapped them there was a layer of soft, white, damp, grainy I don’t know what. And when you cut through that there was a colorful mixture of meat and spices inside.Very portable food.

IMG_2820
The cilantro and onions with the beef was outstandingly delicious on the bland corn tortillas.

Well, back in July my brother suggested I make Tacos del Verde aka Mexican street food. So I when to Pintrest and found this recipe. I also figured that maybe just meat, cilantro, onions, and corn tortillas wouldn’t fill us up so I found a recipe for fancy refried beans and corn.

The meal was a success. The only thing I would do next time is warm up our tortillas a little. When we put the meat in them and tried to pick them up they cracked down the center and all the goodies fell out. 😦

calicotreesig

2 thoughts on “SRC: Mexican Street Food

  1. Thanks for the link–I hope you loved the beans. The key to a great corn tortilla is to heat it in a cast iron skillet with a little lard brushed on each side (and heat each side). Let it get a little blistered on each side and I promise, perfect tortillas!

    Like

Leave a Reply

